Thank you, Steve

20120117-141142.jpg

Here’s to the crazy ones, the misfits, the rebels, the troublemakers, the round pegs in the square holes… the ones who see things differently — they’re not fond of rules… You can quote them, disagree with them, glorify or vilify them, but the only thing you can’t do is ignore them because they change things… they push the human race forward, and while some may see them as the crazy ones, we see genius, because the ones who are crazy enough to think that they can change the world, are the ones who do. — Steve Jobs

(I was originally writing this article about all of the free photo editing apps for the iPad. Instead, I found myself writing a heartfelt tribute to Steve Jobs.)

When the iPad first came out, I figured it was relatively useless since it didn’t come with a full version of Adobe Creative Suite (photoshop, illustrator, in design and acrobat pro).

I’d have jumped on the iPad bandwagon early on if they even had a tricked-down version of adobe cs. When I was gifted with an iPad in december 2011, I immediately became an iPad junkie, convert, born again user. Once I discovered the ease of use, stunning quality of images, the seemingly endless array of tools, apps, resources available, I felt I had reached nirvana.

At the time, I was still sort of grieving the loss of Steve Jobs. The untimely death of this genius/ visionary/perfectionist hit me hard. After all, I wouldn’t have become a graphic designer enjoying a lengthy (and occasionally lucrative career) doing what I love without that first Apple computer. It seems laughable now how that tiny box, with it’s tiny screen and that one slot for a 3-1/2″ floppy disk amazed us all at the time! We were entranced and proud when we could “design” a b/w flyer. We were scared we’d blow the machine up if the file was more than 10k.

My design beginnings were as a typographer using clunky typesetting machines. Their only function was to set type. The “ui” consisted of one window displaying one line of type–that was the extent of the wysiwyg. Wysiwyg what–all you could see was that one unforgiving line of type. There were no undos, cut, copy or paste keys. The only saving grace was the backspace button to correct a typo. But once that one line was gone the only way the typo could be fixed was to type it correctly, cut it out, wax it and paste it over the typo! I could go on and on about how primitive and time-consuming the print process was before desktop computers came along, but that’s another article.

Giant leap forward to the iPad. All I can say is “Thank you, Steve.” When I’m working/playing on the iPad and stumble upon a beautiful, deceptively simple feature, I smile and say, “Thank you, Steve.” When I’m working on a creative project and the computer falls away and it’s just me and my imagination, I say, “Thank you, Steve.”

Steve got us. He knew we just wanted to get on the computer and have fun, create, and express ourselves. He knew we wanted to plug & play, and have something that would look cool on our desks to boot. He wanted his innovations to propel us to, in his words, “stay hungry…stay foolish.”

When the first colorful Apple computers arrived in the ’90s at Macworld, a co-worker raced back to the office, poster in hand and yelled, “the world as we know it has changed forever.” then he unfurled the poster and our jaws dropped in awe. The world had changed, indeed. Thank you, Steve.

Leave a Reply

