Can’t we all just get along?

Rodney King could have been the canary in the cage, so to speak two decades ago, when he said, “Can’t we all just get along?” Of all the things he could have said after his brutal beating, he chose to find words that would heal instead of further tear apart.

If there isn’t a world revolution going on, there should be. We see a society consumed by fear, vanity and greed. It’s inescapable. With every technological advance, we’re getting further away from our human-ness.

We’re losing our language, speaking in shorthand through tweets, preferring a “like” over a hug. We’re spending our lives at shiny steel desks in shiny steel buildings. Multi-tasking, doing way too many things all at once, is becoming a necessity, not an option removing us from a moment of reflection. Heartlessness and ruthlessness seem to be the 21st century business model.

The politicians seem inept, powerless circling beasts who only add to and elevate the confusion.

Our sacred place, our homes and our livelihood are under constant jeopardy. Can I keep my job to pay my mortgage/rent, pay my bills, my taxes…? If I don’t have a job, how long can I last? Will I become another example of what happens when the bottom falls out? Where do we go if the debt ceiling comes crashing down? Where do we go if it does all fall apart?

We fear for our children and grandchildren. What legacy are we leaving them? Don’t we want something better for them–the promise of a life where their dreams can be realized, rather than dimmed by indifference, ignorance and intolerance?

People are suffering, people have always suffered. The world has always been chaotic, but we have never been so tuned into that suffering and chaos as we are now. Oddly enough, technology has connected us more than ever before.

It wasn’t until I realized how the road ahead of me was shorter than the road behind that I asked myself, “What can I do to make a difference? Our President led a campaign saying, “You are the change.” It sure looks that way with the Occupy movement. I stumbled upon, World Revolution II: Choosing Love over Fear in 2012, a compelling, well-produced video, showing us another way out of the mess we’re collectively in.

Honestly, if I’m supposed to take any of the Republican candidates seriously, I can surely take a few minutes to explore a vastly different approach to making necessary change.

What if we did choose “Love over Fear in 2012?” What if we allowed ourselves to believe that this larger thing exists? This “thing” that connects us all. What if we just turned off the “reality tv” and pondered a different, more beneficial reality? This thing that would restore our humanity, bring us closer to what matters most when it is all said and done–love, relationships, kindness and compassion.

John Lennon said it best in one simple word, “Imagine”. It isn’t hard to do.

Imagine there’s no heaven
It’s easy if you try
No hell below us
Above us only sky
Imagine all the people living for today

Imagine there’s no countries
It isn’t hard to do
Nothing to kill or die for
And no religion too
Imagine all the people living life in peace

You, you may say
I’m a dreamer, but I’m not the only one
I hope some day you’ll join us
And the world will be as one

Imagine no possessions
I wonder if you can
No need for greed or hunger
A brotherhood of man
Imagine all the people sharing all the world

You, you may say
I’m a dreamer, but I’m not the only one
I hope some day you’ll join us
And the world will live as one

Leave a Reply

