Brave Girls Club

“Your life is MEANT to be filled with passion and joy……..if you can’t find it….make it. It can always be done…..we can create the happiness that we can not find.”—Brave Girls Club

I used to read affirmations like the one in the image above and think, “Let what go?” you mean things like I still don’t like my brother for leaving me at the playground when I was seven because he got bored? Or still being mad at my aunt who died two years ago for always comparing me to my sister who was her favorite? 0r, well, you get the idea…

Now, I know that the hurt I was feeling was my own creation and that if I “let it go” I would be able to move past the pain of those feelings and get on with my life. But, it wasn’t an easy journey to discover this. When I see them now, I like to pass them on and plant the seed, so to speak for another person’s journey.

Even though these sayings were meaningless to me awhile ago, I was told to say them anyway–that these little affirmations would eventually seep in and I would understand.

In the morning I would get up look at my affirmation taped to the mirror “I’m good enough, smart enough…yeah, right” whatever and say it a few times, get in my car, listen to NPR, get pissed at something some idiot politician said about healthcare for women, get to work and get chewed out by my boss for being five minutes late and missing one of their stupid meetings where he would tell us we were doing a lousy job and by the time I got home I didn’t care if I was good enough or smart enough, I just wanted a glass of wine.

Needless to say, I didn’t learn a thing. It wasn’t until I had to undergo some pretty bad physical and emotional trauma (especially the emotional) for me to “get it.” I learned that to be truly happy was to be honest with myself and be the authentic me that I was at my core and to pursue that person as I would a lover or a friend and all the other things that I so desperately wanted and to accept me, the person I really am and learn to be kind and joyful within myself so that I could share that freely with others. Wow, it’s a lot and it doesn’t come all at once, but if a burnt-out, clueless, stuck-in-the-mire like me can get it anybody can, if they want to.

Believe me, I could have been spared a lot of pain and anxiety. And that seems to be what the women over at Brave Girls Club want to do too.

From Brave Girls Club

In their blog, they say: “…it’s a community for women everywhere who want to do big things with their lives, who want to overcome difficult things, and who believe in doing all of this with love and kindness and as joyfully as possible. We have a worldwide tribe through the internet, and any woman anywhere is welcome and invited.”

Anyway, these little sayings are also beautifully designed and that was another reason for wanting to share them. They have plenty of them and loads of other information too at bravegirlsclub.com. Enjoy and live your dreams…

Leave a Reply

